The first phase of the LTEO monitoring programme will begin in sites in the following landscapes (host institution name in brackets):

  1. North-Western Arid Zone (Gujarat Ecological Education and Research Foundation)
  2. Western Himalaya (Wildlife Institute of India)
  3. Eastern Himalaya
  4. Western Ghats (Centre for Ecological Sciences)
  5. Central Indian Forests (Indian Institute of Forest Management)
  6. Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Andaman Nicobar Environment Team/Dakshin Foundation)